Featuring
Positions, Contexts, Perspectives

Meeting the artists of Dance Platform 2016

Featuring offers space for dialogue – visitors will have a chance to get to know Dance Platform artists in a different way. Together with members of the Dance Platform jury and other experts, the creators of the twelve pieces featured in the main programme will be speaking about their artistic practice. In the process, they will provide some insight into what sparked their pieces and into the contexts of the productions.

Guests: Antonia Baehr & Valérie Castan, Bayerisches Staatsballett II, Verena Billinger & Sebastian Schulz, Monika Gintersdorfer & Knut Klaßen, Ian Kaler, Adam Linder, Lea Moro, Antje Pfundtner, Isabelle Schad, Paula Rosolen, Meg Stuart, Ana Vujanović & Saša Asentić * Moderation: Marcus Droß, Sandra Noeth, Sven Till, Anna Wagner, Eike Wittrock

Thu 3.3. 10 a.m. - 12.30 p.m.; Featuring I
Fri 3.3. 10 a.m. - 12.30 p.m.; Featuring II
Sat, 4.3. 10 a.m. - 12.30 p.m., Featuring III
Sun. 11.30 a.m. - 2 p.m.; Featuring IV
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

Warm-up
training for spectators

For all, who find transitioning from everyday life to sitting in the theatre watching dance somewhat too sudden, we now have an alternative: before select Dance Platform productions, the dancers or the choreographers themselves will offer a special warm-up for the audience one hour before the show. Unlike typical introductory events, here is a chance to personally explore various aspects of corporality, dance or choreography based on very concrete examples and exercises. The format also finally allows the artists themselves to actively influence the physical state of their audience in advance. After the warm-up, there will still be enough time to freshen up before the show begins.

Made possible by Tanzlabor 21 / Tanzbasis Rhein Main * free of charge

Thu. 3.3., 5 p.m.: Collective Jumps
Thu. 3.3., 7 p.m.: Not Punk, Pololo
Fri. 4.3., 2 p.m.: Violent Event ˟
Fri. 4.3., 5.30 p.m.: nimmer
Fri. 4.3., 7 p.m.: Triadisches Ballett

 
Warm-up im Mousonturm

Warm-up im Mousonturm

AT WORK
International Salon for Young Dance Makers

Künstlerhaus Mousonturm is inviting twelve young choreographers from Germany, the Middle East, Croatia, Portugal and other European countries to develop as hosts an experimental salon together prior to the Dance Platform. The idea is to provide a space in which the presented pieces can be examined on multiple levels during the festival and in which the format of the German Dance Platform itself can be commented and worked on. The salon is above all open to all, who are – like their hosts – currently at a point of transitioning from receiving full training to their first years in the professional field. While the main programme of the festival focuses on dance productions from Germany, AT WORK offers a forum for collaboration and creative exchange across national borders.

A project by Mousonturm Frankfurt in the frame of Tanzplattform Rhein-Main 2016-2018 in collaboration with the courses MA Contemporary Dance Education of the Frankfurt University of Music and Dance and MA Choreografie and Performance of the Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, the Academy of Dramatic Art (Zagreb) and Espaço do Tempo (Montemor-o-Novo) * Funded by the Allianz Kulturstiftung and the Hessian Theater Academy.

with: mit: Rose Beermann , Anja Bornšek , Nina Gojic, Mila Pavicevic, Diana Meheik, Jonas Silva Lopes , Filipe Jorge de Oliveira Pereira, João Alexandre dos Santos Martins, Flora Detraz, Kaja Klaudia Kolodziejczyk, Inge Gappmeier, Jason Jacobs, Romain Thibaud-Rose, Janina Arendt

Wed. 2.3. - Sun. 6.3.
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

full schedule

Manifesto for independent work

Open Think Tank by ID Frankfurt/ Independant Dance

In the 1990‘s, the German Dance Platform was created as a forum to present work by independent choreographers. Like the dance scene itself, our understanding of “ independent ” artistic production has radically changed over the last twenty years. What does it mean to produce as a freelancer? What are current practices? How do resources differ in independent art production from conditions offered by established institutions? With these questions in mind and the goal of writing a “manifesto for independent work”, the ID_Frankfurt – a network of artists working in Frankfurt in the fields of dance, choreography and performance – would like to invite colleagues to join them in re-exploring concepts of independent work. Everybody interested in the subject are welcome to attend and participate in the think tank.

A feature by ID_Frankfurt (www.idfrankfurt.com) with Fanti Baum, Hannah Dewor, Olivia Ebert, Kathrin Felzmann, Eleonora Herder, Marialena Marouda, Norbert Pape, Kristina Veit, Kathleen Witt, Susanne Zaun and further guerts.

Thu. 3/3 - Sun 3/6, 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

Late Night Bar in the freitagsküche

Calling all nighthawks and insomniacs! To round off the day, the German Dance Platform welcomes you to the legendary freitagsküche. Originally founded by artists Thomas Friemel and Michael Riedel, the freitagsküche has meanwhile become an established institution in the city’s cultural life. Every week, artists from the region are invited to prepare a shared dinner. Every evening during the Dance Platform a different member of the jury will be manning the bar together with other festival participants. While they mix Mai Tais, Gin & Tonic or other favourite drinks, guests are welcome to discuss the most urgent issues of the day, enjoy some snacks or simply hang out.

Wed. 3/2 - Sat 3/5  (Closing party)
open from 10 p.m.
Frankfurt, Freitagsküche, Mainzer Landstraße 105

www.freitagskueche.de

 
Freitagsküche Frankfurt

Freitagsküche Frankfurt

 
Freitagsküche at Mainzer Landstraße 105

Freitagsküche at Mainzer Landstraße 105

Yoga

We will combat all signs of festival exhaustion with a simple, but stimulating yoga class to start the day.

Th. 3/3 - Su. 3/6 , 9 a.m. - 10 a.m.
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Atelier 2, 5th floor * For professionals of the Dance Platform free of charge

Massage

Kristina Veit and Federico J. Canosa will be helping us balance out body and mind with their mobile massage studio. Be it Thai massage, Abhyanga, classical massage or foot massage, the duo will put together just the right treatment package for your specific ailment.

Th 3/3 - Su. 3/6, 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.
reserve a date at the Info Counter
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm
12 Euro à 15 min.

Dance medial consultation

In cooperation with tamed e.V., physician and dancer Anja Hauschild will be offering dance medical consultation during the Dance Platform. The individual consultations deal with issues such as dance technique analysis, alternative forms of training, rehabilitation after injury and preventive measures against dance(style)-specific risk factors.

Sa. 3/5 & So. 3/6, by appointment at the info counter or online
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm
45 min., own contribution € 15

Making Dance Possible

Structures and ways of working are closely intertwined and for several years now, have continually undergone change in the field of dance. In three panel discussions, experts from the fields of cultural politics, institutional and artistic practice reflect and observe on past and present developments to comprehend what potential they hold for the future and to recognize possible difficulties that may or may not render dance possible or impossible.

free of charge * In German and English

Dance and politics: New Ways in the funding of dance
Thu. 3.3., 2-3 p.m.

In Germany’s federal system of funding culture, local municipalities, states, as well as the Federal Government itself each develop their own legislative procedures. In most cases, closing the structural gaps is left up to the dance makers themselves. Since 2013, steps have been made within the framework of the City-State-National Funding Initiative for Dance to develop joint funding models. Organised together with the Dachverband Tanz, this panel explains the complex political decision-making processes involved, first signs of success and future perspectives.

With:
Cornelia Walter (Performing Arts, Literature and Communication / Office of Culture and cultural heritage protection of Dresden)
Bettina Milz (Head of Section theater and dance / Ministry of Family, Youth, Culture and Sports of the State NRW) - requested
Martin Eifler (Head of Performing Arts / The Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media)

Moderation: Michael Freundt (Managing director / Dachverband Tanz Deutschland)

 

Making Dance Possible
further dates

free of charge * In German and English

Movement in the superstructure. New ways of institutional structures
Fri. 3/4, 2 - 3 p.m.

Spaces for and forms of collaboration between the so-called independent scene, municipal and state theatres and production houses have multiplied. Structures are becoming more transparent and the types of space for artists to articulate themselves have diversified both within and outside of institutions. This panel explores strategies and mechanisms, developed by artists against the backdrop of “critical institutionalism”, and enquires into the institutions of the future.

An event by Künstlerhaus Mousonturm in the frame of Dance Platform Rhein-Main 2016 – 2018.

With: Bettina Masuch (director, tanzhaus nrw), Bruno Heynderickx (curator, Hessisches Staatsballett), Douglas Bateman (choreographer, member of MichaelDouglasKollektiv & co-foudner of ZAIK)

Dance in global correlations. Ways of international networking
Sat. 3/5, 11 a.m. - 12 noon

Several of the productions invited to the Dance Platform were created in a dialogue between dance makers from Germany and from other regions of the world. Funding initiatives by Goethe-Institut and the Federal Cultural Foundation support these international networks by enabling and helping to Finance collaborations and guest appearances. This panel, initiated by Goethe-Institut and German Dance Platform 2016, discusses international relations in dance.

Jong-Ho LEE (artistic director of SIDance Festival, Seoul), Mariana Arteaga (curator and festival director, Mexiko-City), Fabrice Mazliah - dancer and choreographer, member of the choreographers' collective MAMAZA, Frankfurt), Lien Heidenreich (regional programme director at Goethe-Institute Johannesburg)

Featuring - Positionen, Kontexte, Perspektiven

Begegnungen mit den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern der Tanzplattform 2016

Das Featuring bietet einen Raum des Dialogs mit den Tanzplattform-Künstlerinnen und -Künstlern. Im Austausch mit Mitgliedern der Tanzplattform-Jury und anderen Fachleuten stellen sie ihre Arbeitsweise vor und geben Einblick in Fragestellungen, die sie bei ihrer Arbeit begleitet haben, und in die Kontexte ihrer Produktionen.

Gäste: Antonia Baehr & Valérie Castan, Bayerisches Staatsballett II, Verena Billinger & Sebastian Schulz, Monika Gintersdorfer & Knut Klaßen, Ian Kaler, Adam Linder, Lea Moro, Antje Pfundtner, Isabelle Schad, Paula Rosolen, Meg Stuart, Ana Vujanović & Saša Asentić * Moderation: Marcus Droß, Sandra Noeth, Sven Till, Anna Wagner, Eike Wittrock

Do. 3.3., 10 - 12.30 Uhr; Featuring I
Fr. 4.3., 10 - 12.30 Uhr; Featuring II
Sa. 5.3., 10 - 12.30 Uhr; Featuring III
So. 6.3., 11.30 - 14 Uhr; Featuring IV
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

Warm-up
Aufwärmtraining für Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer

Für alle, denen der Übergang vom Alltag zur Tanzaufführung mitunter zu abrupt ausfällt, gibt es eine Alternative: Bei einzelnen Tanzplattform-Produktionen bieten Tänzerinnen und Tänzer oder die Choreografinnen und Choreografen selbst eine Stunde vor Aufführungsbeginn ein spezielles Aufwärmtraining für das Publikum an. Dabei geht es im Gegensatz zur klassischen Einführungsveranstaltung darum, Fragen zum körperlichen, tänzerischen oder choreografischen Selbstverständnis anhand ganz konkreter Beispiele und Übungen selbst zu erproben. Den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern bietet sich dabei die Chance, endlich einmal aktiv Einfluss auf den körperlichen Zustand ihres Publikums zu nehmen. Im Anschluss an das Warm-up bleibt noch ausreichend Zeit, um sich vor Aufführungsbeginn zu erfrischen.

Die Warm-ups werden ermöglicht von Tanzlabor 21 / Tanzbasis Frankfurt Rhein-Main * Eintritt frei

Do. 3.3., 17 Uhr: Collective Jumps
Do. 3.3., 19 Uhr: Not Punk, Pololo
Fr. 4.3., 14 Uhr: Violent Event ˟
Fr. 4.3., 17.30 Uhr: nimmer
Fr. 4.3., 19 Uhr: Triadisches Ballett

 
Warm-up im Mousonturm

Warm-up im Mousonturm

AT WORK
Internationaler Salon für junge Tanzschaffende

Das Künstlerhaus Mousonturm lädt im Vorfeld der Tanzplattform zwölf junge Choreografinnen und Choreografen aus Deutschland, dem Nahen Osten, Kroatien, Portugal und anderen europäischen Ländern ein, gemeinsam als Gastgebende einen experimentellen Salon zu konzipieren, der während des Festivals die präsentierten Stücke auf unterschiedlichsten Ebenen unter die Lupe nimmt und das Format der Tanzplattform Deutschland selbst bearbeitet und kommentiert. Der Salon steht im Besonderen Tanzschaffenden offen, die sich ebenso wie die Gastgeberinnen und Gastgeber am Übergang zwischen Ausbildung und den ersten Jahren im professionellen Feld befinden. Während das Hauptprogramm des Festivals Tanzproduktionen aus Deutschland in den Blick nimmt, bietet AT WORK ein Forum für Zusammenarbeit und kreativen Austausch über Ländergrenzen hinweg.

Ein Projekt des Künstlerhaus Mousonturm im Rahmen der Tanzplattform Rhein-Main 2016-2018 in Zusammenarbeit mit den Studiengängen MA Contemporary Dance Education der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Frankfurt und MA Choreografie und Performance der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen, der Academy of Dramatic Art (Zagreb) und Espaço do Tempo (Montemor-o-Novo) * Gefördert durch die Allianz Kulturstiftung und die Hessische Theaterakademie.

mit: Rose Beermann , Anja Bornšek , Nina Gojic, Mila Pavicevic, Diana Meheik, Jonas Silva Lopes , Filipe Jorge de Oliveira Pereira, João Alexandre dos Santos Martins, Flora Detraz, Kaja Klaudia Kolodziejczyk, Inge Gappmeier, Jason Jacobs, Romain Thibaud-Rose, Janina Arendt

Mi. 2.3. - So. 6.3.
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

komplettes Programm

Manifest für Freies Arbeiten

Offener Think Tank von ID Frankfurt/ Independant Dance

Die Tanzplattform Deutschland entstand in den 1990er-Jahren als ein Forum für die Produktionen freischaffender Choreografinnen und Choreografen. Ebenso wie die Tanzszene hat sich das Verständnis von freier künstlerischer Arbeit in den letzten zwanzig Jahren radikal gewandelt. Was bedeutet es künstlerisch freischaffend zu arbeiten? Wie sehen die derzeitigen Praktiken aus? Und wie unterscheiden sich die Handlungsmöglichkeiten „unabhängigen“ Arbeitens von denen, die bestehende institutionelle Zusammenhänge bieten? Mit diesen Fragen und dem Vorsatz, ein „Manifest für Freies Arbeiten“ zu verfassen, lädt ID_Frankfurt, ein Netzwerk Frankfurter Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus den Bereichen Tanz, Choreografie und Performance, Kolleginnen und Kollegen ein, die Konzepte von Freier Arbeit neu zu beleuchten. Alle Interessierten sind herzlich eingeladen, am Think-Tank teilzunehmen.

Ein Beitrag von ID_Frankfurt (www.idfrankfurt.com) mit Fanti Baum, Hannah Dewor, Olivia Ebert, Kathrin Felzmann, Eleonora Herder, Marialena Marouda, Norbert Pape, Kristina Veit, Kathleen Witt, Susanne Zaun und weiteren Gästen.

Do. 3.3. bis So. 6.3., 10 - 14 Uhr
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

Late Night Bar in der freitagsküche

Für alle Nachteulen und Mondsüchtigen! Zum Ausklang des Tages lädt die Tanzplattform Deutschland in die legendäre freitagsküche ein. Gegründet von den Künstlern Thomas Friemel und Michael Riedel ist die freitagsküche mittlerweile eine feste Institution im kulturellen Miteinander der Stadt. Wöchentlich werden Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus der Region eingeladen, ein gemeinsames Abendessen zuzubereiten. Jeden Abend steht während der Tanzplattform ein anderes Jurymitglied zusammen mit weiteren Akteurinnen und Akteuren des Festivals hinter der Bar. Während Mai Thai, Gin & Tonic oder andere Lieblingsdrinks gemischt werden, sind die Gäste eingeladen, die aufregendsten Fragen des Tages zu diskutieren, Kleinigkeiten zu genießen oder einfach nur gepflegt abzuhängen.

Mi. 2.3. - Sa. 5.3. (Abschlussparty)
geöffnet ab 22 Uhr
Frankfurt, Freitagsküche, Mainzer Landstraße 105 (Hinterhaus)

www.freitagskueche.de

 
Freitagsküche Frankfurt

Freitagsküche Frankfurt

 
Freitagsküche in der Mainzer Landstraße 105

Freitagsküche in der Mainzer Landstraße 105

Yoga

Wir sagen möglichen Festival-Verschleißerscheinungen den Kampf an und laden ein, mit einer leichten, aber anregenden Yogaklasse in den Tag zu starten.

Do. 3.3. - So. 6.3., 9 - 10 Uhr
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm, Atelier 2, 5. OG * Für Akkreditierte der Tanzplattform kostenfrei

Massage

Für den nötigen Ausgleich zwischen Körper und Geist sorgen Kristina Veit und Federico J. Canosa mit ihrem mobilen Massagestudio. Ob Thai-Massage, Abhyanga, klassische Massage oder Fußmassage, das Duo stellt das passende Behandlungspaket für die jeweilige Verspannung zusammen.

Do. 3.3.–So. 6.3., 11–17 Uhr
nach Vereinbarung am Infoschalter
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm
12 Euro à 15 Min.

Tanzmedizinische Beratung

In Kooperation mit tamed e.V. bietet die Medizinerin und Tänzerin Anja Hauschild während der Tanzplattform tanzmedizinische Beratungen an. In den Einzelberatungen geht es um Themen wie Tanztechnikanalyse, alternative Trainingsformen, Rehabilitation von Verletzungen und Vorbeugung von tanz(stil)spezifischen Risikofaktoren.

Sa. 5.3. & So. 6.3., nach Vereinbarung am Infoschalter oder online
Frankfurt, Künstlerhaus Mousonturm
45 Min., Eigenkostenanteil 15 Euro

Making Dance Possible

Strukturen und Arbeitsweisen bedingen sich gegenseitig und befinden sich im Bereich Tanz seit einigen Jahren im kontinuierlichen Wandel. In drei Podiumsgesprächen gehen Expertinnen und Experten aus kulturpolitischer, institutioneller und künstlerischer Praxis Entwicklungslinien nach, um zukunftsweisende Potentiale und aktuelle Problemstellungen zu ergründen, die Tanz möglich oder unmöglich machen.

Eintritt frei * In Deutsch und Englisch

Tanz und Politik. Neue Wege in der Tanzförderung
Do. 3.3., 14-15 Uhr

Im föderalen Kulturförderungssystem in Deutschland entwickeln Kommunen, Bundesländer sowie der Bund je ihre eigenen Instrumentarien. Die strukturellen Lücken zu schließen bleibt dabei zumeist Aufgabe der Tanzschaffenden. Seit 2013 werden im Rahmen der Tanzförderung Stadt-Land-Bund erste Schritte im Hinblick auf ein gemeinsames Modell die Tanzförderung unternommen. Das zusammen mit dem Dachverband Tanz initiierte Panel beleuchtet die komplexen politischen Entscheidungsprozesse, erste Erfolge und weitere Entwicklungsperspektiven.

Mit:
Cornelia Walter (Darstellende Kunst, Literatur und Kommunikation / Amt für Kultur und Denkmalschutz der Landeshauptstadt Dresden)
Bettina Milz (Referatsleitung Theater und Tanz / Ministerium für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes NRW) - angefragt
Martin Eifler (Referatsleiter Darstellend Künste / Die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien)

Moderation: Michael Freundt (Geschäftsführung / Dachverband Tanz Deutschland)

 

Making Dance Possible

weitere Termine

Eintritt frei * In Deutsch und Englisch

Bewegung im Überbau. Neue Wege in institutionellen Strukturen
Fr. 4.3., 14-15 Uhr

Felder und Formen der Zusammenarbeit zwischen der sogenannten freien Szene, Stadt- und Staatstheatern und Produktionshäusern haben sich vervielfältigt. Strukturen werden durchlässiger und Artikulationsräume innerhalb und außerhalb von Institutionen haben sich diversifiziert. Das Panel fragt nach Strategien und Handlungsräumen, die Künstlerinnen und Künstler vor dem Hintergrund eines „critical institutionalism“ entwickeln, und danach, welche Institutionen der Zukunft denkbar sind.

Moderation: Dr. Kerstin Evert (K3 – Zenturm für Choreografie, Tanzplan Deutschland)

Mit: Bettina Masuch (Intendantin, tanzhaus nrw), Bruno Heynderickx (Kurator, Hessisches Staatsballett), Douglas Bateman (Choreograf, Mitglied des MichaelDouglasKollektiv & Mitgründer von ZAIK)

Tanz in globalen Zusammenhängen. Wege internationaler Vernetzung
Sa. 5.3., 11-12 Uhr

Verschiedene Produktionen der Tanzplattform entstanden im Dialog zwischen Tanzschaffenden aus Deutschland und anderen Regionen der Welt. Förderinitiativen des Goethe-Instituts und der Kulturstiftung des Bundes unterstützen die internationale Vernetzung durch Kooperationen und Gastspiele. Das Feld internationaler Beziehungen ist Gegenstand des Podiums, zu dem das Goethe-Institut und die Tanzplattform einladen.

mit: Jong-Ho LEE (Künstlerischer Leiter des SIDance Festival, Seoul), Mariana Arteaga (Kuratorin und Festivalleiterin, Mexiko-City), Fabrice Mazliah (Tänzer und Choreograf, Mitglied des Choreografen-Kollektiv MAMAZA, Frankfurt), Lien Heidenreich (Regionale Programmleiterin am Goethe-Institut Johannesburg)